top of page

Educating and Teaching our Youth


Dr. Martin Luther King once said, "The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character that is the goal of true education." I was also told to value education and seize every opportunity that I can when it

comes to enhancing my knowledge and levels of thinking. From my early childhood days I have always been eager to learn new things. As I progressed through higher education I have still held on to the eager and hunger for more knowledge and to challenge myself to go above and beyond. Everyday brings something new to explore and learn about through various ways.

This past week we were able to meet with the Vice Mayor of the Education department Mr. Olle Burell as well as with the senior superintendent of Stockholm's Education Administration Mr. Lee Orberson. Mr Burell mentioned that roughly 45% of the city's budget goes towards education, primarily focusing on pre-k and primary education systems. Seeing this percentage shows that Stockholm really values the idea of education and that every child should have access to education starting as early as 3 years old. Mr. Burell also outlines four major objectives/missions he focuses on when making policies. His goal is to bring the city of Stockholm closer together by focusing on who are the people he should keep in mind when making policies, the children of the city, and those wanting to establish citizenship in the city. His objectives/goals included a few ideas such as achieving proficiency and equal opportunity for children, gender equality, financial stability, safer/greener city, no discrimination and the elderly is guaranteed a secure life.

Mr. Orberson also spoke on some ideas that were quite similar to the Vice Mayor. He outlines the importance of how the schools are structured and giving students the opportunity to progress through school. He mentioned his goal was to work with all of the administrators and give the leeway to structure their schools in such a way that will benefit the child's learning on a wider aspect, and engaging the students in various ways. He also mentioned his own personal journey to his position and his form of leadership. To my understanding and interpretation, it seems as though Mr. Orberson demonstrates more of a situational leadership style. Where he will flip his style of leadership depending on the circumstances.

I relate to using this form of leadership as well within the college setting. Since I am in the college of Liberal Arts and Sciences Biology major I have had the chance to work with many different students and each group dynamic is vastly different therefore I too have to switch up my leadership style depending on the group dynamic as well as the situation we are placed in. Over the next week I will be working in small groups, each group focusing on different topics, so it will be very interesting to see how well the group works together. I will try my best to focus on each individual's strengths and how we can effectively utilize them in order to be success as a team and complete our presentations. Stay tuned for more details!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page